OT; Negative reviews?

If I Google for say British Gas, Anglian Windows, B&Q Kitchens or Llyods TSB for example, all I am likely to get is adverts or marketing blurb.
But what if I want to check out if anyone has had a negative experience with British Gas, Anglian Windows, B&Q Kitchens or Llyods TSB etc?
Is there a way or entering the search terms that will show up only the problems people have experienced with some companies?
--
Dave - The Medway Handyman www.medwayhandyman.co.uk

Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Think of a complex sentence that expresses what you want and type that in, e.g.:
I want to check out if anyone has had a negative experience or bad review of British Gas, Anglian Windows, B&Q Kitchens or Lloyds TSB
--
Tim

"That excessive bail ought not to be required, nor excessive fines imposed,
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
I've found that creative use of quotes and colons gives interesting results in most search engines, but have you tried www.startingpage.com after configuring it? Brian
--
Brian Gaff - snipped-for-privacy@blueyonder.co.uk
Note:- In order to reduce spam, any email without 'Brian Gaff'
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
The Medway Handyman wrote:

Have you actually tried using the advanced search in Google?
If not, try it to filter your search results and you might have a surprise!
As for the firms that you have listed, you will find may disgruntled customers of those - particularly British Gas who were fined £2.5 million last July over customer complaint handling!
Not fully answering your questions, but seek and you'll certainly find.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Fri, 04 Nov 2011 23:31:13 +0000, The Medway Handyman

Do web searches along the lines of : "problems with" "British Gas"
Alter to suit.
Derek G
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
wrote:

Probably not the search he wants.. "problems with" "medway handyman" returns ~2000 hits.
Doing the same with BG will produce even more useless hits.

Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 05/11/2011 08:27, dennis@home wrote:

I wonder how come I'm replying to threads on diybanter.com when I've never heard of it?
--
Dave - The Medway Handyman www.medwayhandyman.co.uk

Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Nov 5, 1:42 pm, The Medway Handyman wrote:

because DIYbanter steals Usenet postings and reformats them into a web based forum.
Owain
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

How can you steal usenet postings?
You are not dennis, perchance?
Maybe you think it is a plot by linux users to break an embargo?
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 06/11/2011 13:34, Weatherlawyer wrote:

You can display them on a web page carrying adverts. Lots of relevant content and hence a high search engine (organic) results hit rate.
Probably not the usage expected by the authors, who after all retain all rights to such usage unless explicitly waived.
--
Cheers,

John.

/=================================================================\
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
In message

Just as they do with gardenbanter
--
hugh

Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
The Medway Handyman wrote:

DIYbanter (and the other banter sites) hoovers up posts from usenet, and presents them in a webforum.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

I've sometimes wonder whether there is copyright on a post on usenet - not that that would stop them.
--
hugh

Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 06/11/2011 22:22, hugh wrote:

There is, but I suspect you may have some difficulty enforcing your rights in reality.
--
Cheers,

John.

/=================================================================\
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

As opposed to dennis who has his own song
http://www.metrolyrics.com/dennis-problem-lyrics-dri.html
--
geoff

Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 04/11/2011 23:31, The Medway Handyman wrote:

Try searching Google groups instead, e.g. <http://groups.google.com/advanced_search
--
Mike Clarke

Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Fri, 04 Nov 2011 23:31:13 +0000, The Medway Handyman wrote:

Sometimes adding the word forum to the search will show some results with discussions.
--
Peter.
The gods will stay away
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
snipped-for-privacy@blueyonder.co.uk says...

Sorry to hijack the thread but the other day I was googling for info about a particular computer problem. I found what I wanted - eventually - but it threw up loads of hits from as early as 2004. Now in computer terms, because everything moves so quickly, seven years ago may as well be prehistoric (I got something 9 months ago that is now obsolete and been superceded twice) so is there a way to force hits only from, say, 12 months ago to the present day?
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 05/11/2011 12:29, Steve Openshaw wrote:

Google advanced search should do that. Once you've done a normal search it appears as an option at the foot of the page, and the date thing is a further option. Probably an easier way but I don't use it much.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Well I'm blowed so it does. Right in front of my nose and I missed it - sorry.
--
Tim

"That excessive bail ought not to be required, nor excessive fines imposed,
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
✖
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.