Harbor Freight Bar Clamp #60539 Review

They suck.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Can you be a little more specific?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wednesday, January 17, 2018 at 9:55:52 PM UTC-5, Doug Miller wrote:

They really suck.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 17 Jan 2018 18:46:29 -0800 (PST), DerbyDad03
Those look like the ones I've had the head castings break. Yep, they suck eggs.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/18 8:46 PM, DerbyDad03 wrote:

Pretty much covers it.
--

-MIKE-

"Playing is not something I do at night, it's my function in life"
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/2018 9:46 PM, DerbyDad03 wrote:

very good. Understand that they are light duty clamps, they are not made to torque down to the max... if you did, you really don't understand them. They are for things that can't handle heavy clamps.
Mine have been fine.
--
Jeff

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/18/2018 12:48 AM, woodchucker wrote:

One more thing, my HF clamps are better than the Jets. The jet has a very thin wall and really bow very quickly. The HF are more stout.
--
Jeff

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Thu, 18 Jan 2018 00:48:11 -0500

yeah most reviewers may not be using them correctly
and who has not tried to clamp the mistakes out of something once or twice
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 12:15:16 PM UTC-5, Electric Comet wrote:

And those that comment on the reviewers may never have used them.

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/18/2018 12:48 AM, woodchucker wrote:

Agreed. I’ve had mine for many years and they’ve been great. i broke one because i torqued it down too much. We’re not supposed to squeeze all the glue out anyway.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wednesday, January 17, 2018 at 8:46:35 PM UTC-6, DerbyDad03 wrote:

Yep. Toss my hat in with yours. They worked OK for a short while, but after that they found different ways to fail.
The only thing worse they sell in that line at HF? Those fricking squeeze clamps. I purchased carefully in the store, and within one job, all six clamps I bought wouldn't compress //at all//.
Robert
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/18/18 1:23 AM, snipped-for-privacy@aol.com wrote:

Oo, oo! You're talking about these, right?
<https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-tools/clamps/6-inch-ratchet-bar-clamp-spreader-46806.html>
I think at the time they may have been orange. I bought 2 and took them back after the handles broke before they'd actually hold what they were clamped to. :-)
--

-MIKE-

"Playing is not something I do at night, it's my function in life"
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 11:01:47 AM UTC-5, -MIKE- wrote:

Ah yes, that satisfying *snap* as the internal mechanism lets go and the handle loses all tension. BTDT
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 10:01:47 AM UTC-6, -MIKE- wrote:

-spreader-46806.html>

Yessireee... that is the very POS I was talking about. I use a lot of sque eze clamps as I work by myself a lot. I thought I was being smart as they had them for $2.99 or something like that so I bought about 5. Having brok en a squeeze clamp, I was able to look into the mechanism of those things. I don't know how they screwed those us so completely, but they sure did.
They weren't worth the time it took to throw them away - ALL of them failed in a week or so.
Robert
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/18/2018 5:37 PM, snipped-for-privacy@aol.com wrote:

Yep, took those apart, they didn't have enough plastic in the bosses, so they cocked to the side and were done. A very simple fix on their part,useless as they are.
--
Jeff

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 17 Jan 2018 23:23:52 -0800 (PST), " snipped-for-privacy@aol.com"

+1
I wouldn't even buy a 'C' clamp at HF, anymore.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/18/2018 11:16 AM, snipped-for-privacy@notreal.com wrote:

Too bad. I bought their quick release C clamp a few years ago. And it has lasted well. Same as the bessey. I recently bought one for my son for Christmas, I did have to work on it, to clean up the burrs on the half nut.. But it's now a very useable clamp. It all depends on what you need. Some tools are not worth it. Some are the same as others. Years ago, I picked up a couple of gear head clamps.. they are my best clamps of that ilk . I think Jorgensen sued them, so they stopped carrying them.
Then Jorgensen went out of business. Now restarting up again. They are great.
--
Jeff

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/18/2018 2:23 AM, snipped-for-privacy@aol.com wrote:

I've been using pipe clamps for 60 years, same clamps too, can't over torque them and they work fine for cabinet makers all over the world for as long as they've been making them. (mine were my dads, and are probably over 70 years old.)
I bought 4 of the HF ratcheting squeeze clamps a while ago, under 3 bucks a piece. I didn't expect them to last, and they didn't. First the plastic trigger pin broke, so I drilled the handle and put in a machine screw. Then, the plastic end bracket cracked, so I replaced with hardwood. Then, the plastic cam in the handle broke, so I beefed it up with epoxy. Now the clamps pass as a light duty clamps and I use them quite a bit. The weak point now might be the epoxy cam clamp thing-ee. Been holding up but I try not to use all my strength in use.
Here is a picture of two of the fixes, I didn't bother taking the handle apart to show the epoxy reinforcement.
http://jbstein.com/Flick/HFClamp.jpg
I only wasted my time with them for the challenge, and fill up some putzing around time. People building stuff for a living shouldn't waste their time. People like me that quit building stuff and would rather putz around, well it's something to do. Had they put 50 cents worth of metal where they fail, they would work ok, but what fun would that be. As it was, I was IMPRESSED you could take the handle apart with screws.
--
Jack
Tolerance is the virtue of the man without convictions.
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Sunday, January 21, 2018 at 12:59:24 PM UTC-5, Jack wrote:

"This is my favorite hammer. I've replaced the handle three times and the head twice. Love this thing."
;-)
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Perhaps you would do better with the steel quick release clamps. I Have 50 or so in varying sizes accumulated over 20+ years and none have ever failed, all work fine.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.