OT - Stupidest Amazon Review Ever

Why would someone waste their time writing a review like this? The only saving grace for humanity is that no one found the review helpful. It would be very scary if anyone did.
0 of 13 people found the following review helpful 3.0 out of 5 stars
Sorry! Can't rate it.
ByTheoon August 10, 2013 Package Quantity: 1 Verified Purchase
Unfortunately my house burnt down and took the product with it. I found the remains and they aren't usable. Maybe when my life settles down I'll try again. Sure sounds like a good product.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Friday, January 1, 2016 at 5:50:25 PM UTC-6, DerbyDad03 wrote:

aving grace

ary if anyone did.

he remains and

sounds like a

What was it, a fire extinguisher? (͡๏̯͡๏)
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 01/01/2016 05:57 PM, bob_villain wrote:
[snip]

There's a movie called "The Stupids" where a woman says "This is the worst fire extinguisher ever.". The funny part is when everyone can see she picked up a flame thrower.
--
Mark Lloyd
http://notstupid.us/
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 01/01/2016 05:50 PM, DerbyDad03 wrote:

Maybe you'll find it helpful, when you decide to stay away from it.
--
"What religion a man shall have is a historical accident, quite as much
as what language he shall speak." [George Santayana, Reason in Religion]
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/1/2016 5:50 PM, DerbyDad03 wrote:

A good many third-party retailers on Amazon send follow-up emails asking buyers to take the time to rate their products. A lot of people reply to those emails, not realizing their reply will end up posted on Amazon as a review. You also see that with person who are replying to an individual's question about a product via email, and think they're sending a private message, only to have their comment posted as a review or comment.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/4/2016 8:12 AM, Moe DeLoughan wrote:

I've done reviews and regretted a couple because I gave them after first use of the product but a month later had problems with it. They often ask for reviews before you have even opened the box.
Mentioning third party retailers, I now avoid them. Had a problem with a product that I needed replaced and it took a few days before the seller got back to me. Meanwhile I sent it back to manufacturer under warranty and that worked fine but cost me extra postage. Now I only buy if product comes directly from Amazon.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Monday, January 4, 2016 at 8:33:29 AM UTC-5, Frank wrote:

If I get a request for a review and I am forced to give it "stars" before I am ready, I ignore it. I won't prop up or tear down a product before I've had a chance to form an opinion based on actual use.
Many apps on my smartphone offer an option to "Remind Me Later". All review requests should include this option.
As far as third-party vs. Amazon, there are many times when there is no choice. So far, I've not had any problems with either.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 01/04/2016 07:07 AM, DerbyDad03 wrote:

I had one problem with a third party supplier substituting Chinese knockoffs for Photon Micro Lights. I emailed Amazon and they made it good immediately.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/4/2016 7:43 AM, rbowman wrote:

How so? By forcing the vendor to supply the product as "advertised"? Or, by refunding your money?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 01/04/2016 07:48 AM, Don Y wrote:

Refund and the third party vanished at least under the original name. Amazon didn't want the unit back.
Like a lot of the knockoffs you have to wonder why they bothered. The case is identical to the genuine Photon except for the logo. The battery is no-name Chinese and the LED isn't as white as the Photon. Otherwise, it's functional. For a few pennies more it would be equivalent to the Photon.
That borderline between cheap shit and inexpensive but serviceable merchandise has always driven me crazy. They go through all the same manufacturing motions and manage to stop short of mediocre.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/4/2016 8:17 PM, rbowman wrote:

I'd guessed they just insisted on the refund. Would have been more amused had they forced the vendor to provide the advertised item! Would be particularly amusing for hard to find items!! :>
("Crap! Where the hell are we going to find a left-handed smoke-shifter??")

The pennies (and even micropennies) add up QUICKLY!
I suspect most folks have a poor impression of many vendors (and vendors come and go like never before!) so "reputation" doesn't mean anything, relatively speaking, in most transactions.
I've got three more Samsung LCD monitors going under the knife. They could have doubled their lifespan for a few pennies per unit. But, then folks wouldn't be buying *new* LCD monitors, now would they?? :>
OTOH, I have *so* many rescued Samsung monitors (like fifteen 21"?) that I have very little faith in Samsung as a supplier! Of course, this is specious reasoning -- it could be that I have so many Samsung (vs. other vendors) because Samsung *sells* more than other vendors. Or, sells more to the sorts of people/businesses that discard them in this way!
Regardless, when it comes to buying a kilobuck TV, you can bet Samsung is viewed with some trepidation on my part! (Ditto Vizio as I see a lot of dead Vizio TV's)

Yup. But, do you really think Joe Consumer is going to go SPECIFICALLY looking for People's LED Knockoff Factory #3766 the next time they want to buy one??
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

You can go back and edit your review at any time. I've done that several times.
--
Web based forums are like subscribing to 10 different newspapers
and having to visit 10 different news stands to pickup each one.
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Monday, January 4, 2016 at 8:12:48 AM UTC-5, Moe DeLoughan wrote:

Well, if that's the case, then I guess we can be pretty sure that this particular third-party retailer doesn't filter their reviews. I don't think that they would want a 3 star review, which could bring down their average, when the review wasn't even a real review.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Site Timeline

Related Threads

    HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.