Are these boiler reviews anything like representative of reliability?



Forgetting those with just a few reviews it appears that virtually all the boilers mentioned are more than a little unreliable.
rbel
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 31/10/2011 19:58, rbel wrote:

It's quite hard to say really, from some reviews I get the impression that the boiler wasn't installed properly - mostly dirty systems and sometimes it just seems like whoever is called to fix them just throws parts in until the problem is cured.
--
David


Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 31/10/2011 19:58, rbel wrote:

Take into consideration that if your boiler is working ok, your probably not going to write a review. The ones likely to write are the folk who have had problems and want the world to know about it.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 31/10/2011 20:54, Justine Time wrote:

Worth noting that their "top five" are a Vaillant and two Worcesters, exactly what the experts in this group say. (The other two look like adverts).
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 31/10/2011 22:59, Newshound wrote:

It would be interesting if geoff can tell us if he gets more Worcester parts or Vaillant parts in for repairs? General consensus seems to be the electronics of a Vaillant are more solid...
--
David


Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Yes, I get a lot of worcester stuff coming through now
I used to recommend them to people, but I have given up doing that
However, it has to be said that there are an awful lot of worcester boilers out there (I have one)
Vaillants do seem to have a slightly better track record
I had someone phone up today who still had the original (15 year old) pcb in his suprima boiler and wanted a fan instead - miracles happen
--
geoff

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Truly master that indeed is a sign of the second coming!...
Be ye !!-\Mightily/-!! afraid;!!!!
--
Tony Sayer


Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
geoff wrote:

Geoff, Is there a pattern to the type of faults you see? Maybe dry joints due to thermal stress or relay contact dirt/failure. In the field of electronics I worked in, components were very reliable unless over stressed in some way. Heat and dirt were a source of problems though. Conformal coating used to help a lot but I doubt that they use that. Maybe the boiler designs are cut to the bone?
cheers
Bob
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Cynical me says they are designed to fail. Heat shouldn't be a problem with a decent modern boiler.
--
*Why do they put Braille on the drive-through bank machines?

Dave Plowman snipped-for-privacy@davenoise.co.uk London SW
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 01/11/2011 00:15, geoff wrote:

Probably bit like my nans Ideal Isar, no breakdowns in nearly 4 years....apart from one diverter valve @ 8 months.
--
David


Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 31/10/2011 23:18, gremlin_95 wrote:

The difficulty with interpreting that sort of information, is not knowing how many of each model are actually in service, and hence what proportion of those you are seeing failed components from.
--
Cheers,

John.

/=================================================================\
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Of course. You have a car for 10 years. Now it breaks down one night and causes you some inconvenience.
When anyone asks you about that car what do you remember?, that one time in 10 years that it broke down, or the 9 years 364 days that it started ands ran fine and did what you required of it;...

I'd rather trust Geoff Raden's opinion anyday rather than some anonymous website;!..
--
Tony Sayer


Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Many thanks for your thoughts on the reliability issue. It looks as though Vaillant are probably the best bet at the moment. I take it that this does not take initial cost into consideration? In other words I am prepared to pay (a bit) more for a reliable boiler and controls.
Having a 20(?) year old Baxi Boston 70 that has provided years of service without any problems whatsoever, and listened to others complaints about their new boilers, reliability of replacement kit is a concern. As we are having a new bathroom which will involve moving/changing the existing dhw cylinder I think that now is the time to bite the bullet and look at a more efficient system.
More questions will follow!
rbel
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 01/11/2011 19:10, rbel wrote:

The early Ecotecs used to suffer from dodgy pressure switches, pumps and weak rubber hoses. All these issues are sorted now and its a very reliable boiler.
--
David


Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Mon, 31 Oct 2011 19:58:15 +0000, rbel wrote:

A non-negative review for an Ideal Isar?!!!
And the site groups different boilers under "Worcester Bosch boiler" but then has separate entry for "Worcester Junior 28i Combi Condensing Boiler".
Er, why? Why not either group all boilers by one manufacturer together, or separate them by model.
Mickey Mouse
--
John Stumbles -- http://yaph.co.uk

An atheist is a person with no invisible means of support
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.