Tool review: Drillnado (5 stars)

Page 2 of 3  
On 1/17/2016 9:08 PM, Puckdropper wrote:

Oddly MDF does too.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Puckdropper <puckdropper(at)yahoo(dot)com> wrote in

You can take the suction housing (the "accordion" part) off of the manifold in about two seconds.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload


Thanks Doug. I'll keep my eye out for one of those Drillnados.
Puckdropper
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

It appears to be only available online and at WW shows. I suspect there is a reason it's not sold at either Woodcraft or Rockler where it could be easily returned for a refund, but I could be wrong.
This doesn't look so good: http://lumberjocks.com/reviews/5370
I also suspect there is a reason that I couldn't find a single "Drillnado" video that shows someone drilling all the way through the middle of a piece of wood, instead of making 1/4" divots along the edge.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbDmW8G_tYU

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/2016 1:51 PM, Spalted Walt wrote:

That $39.95 direct would probably be $69.95 or more from a retailer.
Typical pricing in that industry is a MSRP of 5X the actual cost to manufacture. When I worked for a company in the hobby industry the local shop bought from the distributor at 40% off list, the distributor bought at 50% off list less another 10%.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/16 1:54 PM, Ed Pawlowski wrote:

Not in this day and age. If that were the case, they wouldn't find a single retailer to carry their products. Most makers who also sell direct on the internet can't sell for less than MSLP due to their contracts with retailers. If the sell for less, it's certainly not a discount anywhere near your example. Why would any retailer carry a product knowing they will be undersold by its maker?
Fastcap is one example. They have a healthy e-sales presence on their website, but also sell to Woodcraft, Rockler, etc. They are generally not under their retailers prices on their website. When they are it's negligible and would be negated by having to pay shipping. When they are selling something at a huge discount, it's because it's discontinued or a scratch-n-dent deal.
--

-MIKE-

"Playing is not something I do at night, it's my function in life"
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/2016 2:49 PM, -MIKE- wrote:

Yeah I agree with that. Typically the manufacturer sells at retail to fill the gap when there is not a retailer supplying the product. The plus side for the manufacturer is they they increase their GP. The minus side is that cost of distribution goes up.

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/2016 3:49 PM, -MIKE- wrote:

Well duh, they are NOT carrying it. Possibly because the seller is not giving enough discount. I don't know the real cost so I cannot set a MSRP, but the discounts have not changed much. Maybe it can retail for $40, but that means the real cost is $10 or less.
Have you ever heard that jewelers make a 100% markup? My cousin the jeweler laughs because things are 300% to 400%.
sometimes small guys don't know how to price and sell in the marketplace. Mny years ago a guy was selling a battery powered starter for model aircraft for $40. It was a nice sideline business and he sold direct because there was not enough room for discount. My boss told him that he was going to sell a better product at half the price so he should be prepared for it. The guy laughed and said it could not be done. Six month later our product hit the market. Pretty much destroyed the other guy.
The difference? Matt thought in volume and projected larger sales at the right price. He bought in quantity and got better pricing. He invested in tooling to make a better product. If you want to be big, yoou have to think big. Remains to be seen on this item. If his cost is $20 or less, Rockler (and others) may carry it. If cost is $20 or more, not going to happen.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Or not:
http://www.infinitytools.com/Drillnado-Drill-Press-Dust-Collection-System/productinfo/115-120/ http://www.eagleamerica.com/product/v415-8050/dust_collection http://woodworker.com/drillnado-drill-press-dust-hood-kit-mssu-170-123.asp
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Sun, 17 Jan 2016 00:59:56 -0000 (UTC)

my drill press does not make dust unless i have the sanding spindle on
this seems like a solution looking for a problem
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Sun, 17 Jan 2016 17:43:02 -0800, Electric Comet

When are you going to start wood working?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/2016 8:02 PM, OFWW wrote:

Too busy, teaching us, to get any work done.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/16 7:43 PM, Electric Comet wrote:

What do you call the stuff that is produced by a saw blade? It's commonly referred to as sawdust, no matter how fine a size it is.

It's clear to everyone by that statement you've never used a drill press before. Just about any person who has used a drill press for longer than am hour has devised some way to hook up a hose from their shop vac or dust collector because of all the swarf, shavings, chips, filings, or whatever else anyone who's not an overly-semantic bonehead would consider synonymous with the word sawdust. I have yet to run across any woodworker on this planet who calls the vacuum producing machine that is piped to different woodworking tools in order to suck up all the previously mentioned waste byproducts produced by those tools anything other than a "dust" collector.
Two words of advice: 1. Better to be silent and considered a fool than open your mouth a remove all doubt. 2. Discover punctuation.
--

-MIKE-

"Playing is not something I do at night, it's my function in life"
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/2016 7:43 PM, Electric Comet wrote:

It's easy to detect a moron in a group, unfortunately,it's near impossible to remove the moron from same.
Plonk!
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Electric Comet wrote:

You sir, are a problem looking for a solution. Kill files may just be the only appropriate solution to your thoughts...
--
-Mike-
snipped-for-privacy@windstream.net
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/17/2016 8:43 PM, Electric Comet wrote:

I'm doing something wrong. When I drill a hole the wood that was in the hole comes out and piles up on top of the board. Evidently you've been able to overcome this. Can you teach me your method?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Sun, 17 Jan 2016 22:28:15 -0500

seems reasonable for the wood to pile up
the poster has the rpms too high because he has to sweep up the wood that goes all over the shop
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Ok, I'm in a good mood today.
Wood goes all over my shop not because of it being tossed by the tools, but because it hitches a ride on my shoes. I try to take steps to prevent that, but unfortunately taking steps is what causes it in the first place!
Puckdropper
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 1/18/2016 10:33 AM, Electric Comet wrote:

The problem with wood piling up is that it gets under then next piece and or between the fence and the work. If you did this type work you would know this. Additionally it is better for the debris to sling onto the floor so that the above fact is less bothersome.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Neither does mine. My jointer and planer don't make "dust" either, but I still connect them to my dust collector -- which does a fine job of collecting the chips those machines produce.

Perhaps you haven't thought this through all the way?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Related Threads

    HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.