*** Mini-FAQ for rec.woodworking # 129 - Trial

Dear New User,
* Welcome to rec.woodworking, known locally as the wreck * This is an informal group with users of all levels of knowledge, from those who have yet to pick up a tool, professional woodworkers, authors of books on woodworking, woodworking magazine editors, principals of tool companies, and every level in between.
This group is a collection of people with a common interest in woodworking (ww'ing), and as such the topics discussed sometimes wander away from strictly ww'ing. Think of this NG as if you were having a number of friends over to your shop to discuss ww'ing, 90% of the discussion will revolve around ww'ing, but you will also discuss other things going on in your life, like your shop dog dying, gloating about the vintage minty fresh Unisaur you just got for $100, just got a new job, etc. That is what we do in this NG.
** The full FAQ (frequently asked questions) for this newsgroup ** is at http://www.robson.org/woodfaq/ (Note: includes acronyms)
*** Pictures accompanying a post can be posted on a website (provide a link) or on alt.binaries.pictures.woodworking (or alt.binaries.pictures.furniture)
**** One of the traditions of Usenet Newsgroups (NG) that is encouraged, is the tradition of "lurking", or hanging around for a while, taking in the local culture before posting to the NG. While not mandatory, it is asked that you just sit back and read the NG for a short time before a first posting. This will allow you to become familiar with how things are done in this neck of the woods, become familiar with the locals, etc.
If you find yourself being referred to as a "newbie", don't take offence; it is not a derogatory term, but a statement of fact. Sometimes some members of this NG can be a little harsh, take it in stride, put on your Nomex underwear and fire back. The timid don't survive NG's for very long. But be polite, this is one of the few NG's left on Usenet where decorum is still the common practice rather than the exception.
Please DO NOT post off topic. If you *MUST* make an off topic post, please preface the subject with "[OT]", so those who are not interested in OT posts can skip them.
**** * One resource that is even greater than this NG is this NG's archives. Click this link to do a power search, http://groups.google.com/advanced_group_search
You will be taken to a page where you can enter specifically what you are looking for. Be sure to enter "rec.woodworking" as the newsgroup you wish to search.
Some people say that if everyone were to use Google before they posted a question, this NG would be dead, but this is a pessimistic point of view. Likely all that would happen is that many of the common repetitive posts would disappear and people would get better advice. Many of the most knowledgeable people from this NG have left due to the high noise-to-signal ratio.
A less user-friendly engine is Usenet Replayer, http://usenet-replayer.com
**** ** A note about advice you receive here on the wreck While much of the advice you will receive here will be top notch, use common sense, if something does not feel/sound safe don't do it. Just because someone else does something one way does not mean that is the only or even the correct way. Your safety is your responsibility.
**** *** A note on Trolls People, *PLEASE* do not reply to the trolls, leave them under their pitiful bridge to starve. And they will starve, and go away if you stop feeding them with your replies.
LINKS TO GREAT WOODWORKING SITES # The full FAQ (frequently asked questions) for this newsgroup, http://www.robson.org/woodfaq / # Dust Collection FAQ, everything you wanted to know about dust collection, http://mypeoplepc.com/members/dstig/dustfaq_1.html # Steambending FAQ, http://www.wcha.org/tidbits/steamfaq.html
# Free Plans, http://absolutelyfreeplans.com # Loads of Free Plans and Links, http://www-2.cs.cmu.edu/afs/andrew.cmu.edu/usr/flip/www/plans.html # WoodShop Demos, lots of ww'ing demos and info, http://www.woodshopdemos.com/menu2.htm # Woodworker's Central, where you can find reviews of equipment, FREE plans and much much more, http://www.woodworking.org / # WoodBin Plan Finder, http://www.woodbin.com/calcs/planfinder.htm # Internet Woodworking.com W5, Free plans, much reference material, http://www.internetwoodworking.com / # Plans Now, pay ww'ing plans, http://www.plansnow.com/index.html # Free Woodworking Plans, http://www.freeplans.com / # More Free Woodworking Plans, http://plans.the3house.com / # Woodweb, lots of ww'ing industry info, http://www.woodweb.com / # Woodworking.com, http://www.woodworking.com / # The Oak Factory, general ww'ing info, http://theoak.com / # Portal: The Woodworking Industry Internet Directory, http://www.iswonline.com/index.shtml
# The Old Woodworking Machinery Website. Everything you wanted to know about buying, restoring and using vintage woodworking machinery, http://www.oldwwmachines.com /
# Bernie Hunt's Porter-Cable 557 plate joiner FAQ's, http://www.huntfamily.com/pc557.cfm
# Old Tools Mailing List FAQ, info for collectors and users of old hand tools, http://www.brendlers.net/oldtools/oldtools.html # The Electronic Neanderthal, traditional ww'ing info, http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~alf/en/frontpage.html # Patrick's Blood and Gore, Everything you ever wanted to know about Stanley hand plans, and much more, http://www.supertool.com/StanleyBG/stan0.htm # Scary Sharp, find out what all the fuss is about, how to sharpen tools with sandpaper, http://www.shavings.net/SCARY.HTM#original
# crowbar FAQ http://www.klownhammer.org/crowbar
** Links to Woodworking Magazines ** - Fine Woodworking, http://www.taunton.com/fw / - Popular Woodworking, http://www.popularwoodworking.com / - Wood Magazine, http://www.woodmagazine.com - Woodworkers Journal, http://www.woodworkersjournal.com / - Canadian Woodworking magazine, http://www.canadianwoodworking.com / - Shop Notes Magazine, http://www.shopnotes.com / - Woodsmith Magazine, http://www.woodsmith.com / - Workbench Magazine, http://www.workbenchmagazine.com /
** Links to online retailers ** - Canadian lumber suppliers, http://members.rogers.com/wsguthrie/suppliers.htm - Lee Valley, Great tools, http://www.leevalley.com/home/main.asp - Grizzly, http://www.grizzly.com - Rockler, http://www.rockler.com - Woodcraft, http://shop.woodcraft.com - Garrett Wade, http://www.garrettwade.com - Amazon, Tool Crib of the North, (Amazon.com product link shortened) />/ - Jeff Jewit's Homestead Finishing, great finishing advice and finishing products, http://www.homesteadfinishing.com / - Paddy O'deens (Patrick Olguin) Shellac.net, best Shellac on the net, http://www.shellac.net/index.html
** Links to Woodworking Equipment manufacturers ** - General and General International, http://www.general.ca / - Delta, http://www.deltawoodworking.com - Jet USA, http://www.jettools.com / - Jet Canada, http://www.jetequipment.com / - Toolex International, http://www.toolex.ca - Performax Sanders, http://www.performaxproducts.com / - Powermatic, http://www.powermatic.com / - Wilke Machinery Company (Bridgewood), http://www.wilkemachinery.com - Dewalt, http://www.dewalt.com/us/core/ - Porter Cable, http://www.porter-cable.com / - Hitachi Power Tools, http://www.hitachi.com/product/personal/diy/index.html - Makita, http://www.makita.com / - Bosch, http://www.boschtools.com / - Milwaukee, http://www.mil-electric-tool.com / - Northfield Foundry & Machine Co., Serious Big Iron, in the old iron tradition, http://www.northfieldwoodworking.com - Forrest Saw Blades (makers of the famous WWII blade), http://www.forrestsawblades.com / - Lie-Nielsen (top of the line hand planes), http://www.lie-nielsen.com / - Knight-Toolworks & Custom Planes, traditional wooden hand planes, http://www.knight-toolworks.com / - Leigh Dovetail Jig, best DT jig on the market, http://www.leighjigs.com - Carter, the famous bandsaw guide company, http://www.carterproducts.com /
** Links to Woodworking shows on TV ** - New Yankee Workshop, http://www.newyankee.com / - The Woodwright's Shop with Roy Underhill, http://www.ibiblio.org/uncpress/woodwright / - The American Woodshop with Scott Phillips, http://www.americanwoodshop.org/resources / - In the Workshop with John Silloats, (Canadian), http://www.intheworkshop.com / - The Router Workshop, http://www.routerworkshop.com /
** Related News Groups ** - alt.binaries.pictures.furniture - alt.binaries.pictures.woodworking - rec.crafts.woodturning - rec.crafts.carving - alt.home.repair
Newbies, please read this newsgroups full FAQ. rec.ww FAQ http://www.robson.org/woodfaq / Archives http://groups.google.com/advanced_group_search
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Hmmmm.... Looks familiar.... :).
David.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

*** It should! Actually I have no wish to keep this up, but I feel that it would be nice if somebody did. I am just trying. PvR
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Site Timeline

HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.