Ping gfretwell: Commercial Electric LED Shoplight Review?

gfretwell:
It's been almost a year since you started a thread about these LED shop lights. Are you still a fan?
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Commercial-Electric-4-ft-White-LED-Linkable-Shop-Light-54103161/205331022
Last night I stole the florescent shop light from my garage for use over a project table in my basement. Now I need to either replace the garage light or put the original back and get a new one for the project table.
FWIW my garage gets real close to freezing, but tends to hover just above even in the coldest weather. The florescent fixture is a little slow in the cold weather, but not bad at all.
Your thoughts would be appreciated.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 9/14/2016 8:26 AM, DerbyDad03 wrote:

Not speaking for gfretwell but I bought 6 of the two "light" shop lights from Costco last year and installed them in our garage. Used them frequently over the winter in that unheated space that was frequently below freezing. They beat the old fluorescent fixture (believe they had the high efficiency magnetic(?) ballast) by a mile.
Put out a lot of light, instant on, no flicker and cheap! Think I paid less than $28 per unit. I believe the brand name was Feit.
So far no problems, just smiles!
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wednesday, September 14, 2016 at 9:54:57 AM UTC-4, Unquestionably Confused wrote:

You did not specifically say that you replaced the "old fluorescent fixture" with an *LED* fixture, so I just want to make sure that that is what you did.
I'm not sure what you mean by "I bought 6 of the two "light" shop lights".
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 14 Sep 2016 07:13:25 -0700 (PDT), DerbyDad03

In a shop they are fine. I am probably still going to keep the T12s in the kitchen because you can get broad spectrum lamps for them. LED seems to be hotter than the whitest fluorescent.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 9/14/2016 9:13 AM, DerbyDad03 wrote:

Yep, that was it. A slim line unit with reflector, two "bulbs" all set to go. Just hang it and plug it in.
I think this is the same one that I bought for almost 50% less at Costco.
https://www.amazon.com/Feit-917972-Electric-Utility-Light/dp/B00LFAY5SM
Here's a review for the one sold at Costco
http://www.designingwithleds.com/review-costcos-feit-led-shop-light-with-integral-lamps/
I'd buy them again in a NY minute. In fact, I did buy two more for my son-in-law who doesn't have a Costco nearby and couldn't locate that specific model/price in his area.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On 9/14/2016 8:54 AM, Unquestionably Confused wrote:

Same here, but I installed mine this spring, so they haven't gone through the winter yet. I installed them in the garage and in the basement. They seem much brighter than the fluorescent fixtures I previously had in the basement. I've got a couple connected to motion detectors in the garage and also in the basement, so as soon as a door opens or I enter an area, it's brightly lit.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
snipped-for-privacy@eznet.net says...

About a year ago I put up 3 of those LED shop lights in my basement. I use the basement almost daily being retired. I have a TV and couch down there and a 'shop' for my hobbies. They replaced 3 of the inexpensive fluorescent 2 bulb shop lights. They are at least as bright and so far no problems. The basement seldom gets below 60 deg in the winter. Most of the time it is around 68 to 74 deg depending on what I am doing and how cold it is outside. Not sure how they would work if below 60 deg, but so far I really like them. I may install a few more when the other 2 fluorescent bulbs fail.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 14 Sep 2016 06:26:53 -0700 (PDT), DerbyDad03

So far so good. I am swapping out my old F40T12s as the ballasts fail and I have a couple different styles of LED, all are working so far.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wednesday, September 14, 2016 at 1:01:48 PM UTC-4, snipped-for-privacy@aol.com wrote:

Thanks. I'll try the LED fixture in the garage since the original one has already been moved to the basement.
I also noticed the "link" feature which might be useful. I always wanted an over head light in a second location in the garage and this might be the easy way to do it.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wednesday, September 14, 2016 at 1:01:48 PM UTC-4, snipped-for-privacy@aol.com wrote :


hop-Light-54103161/205331022

a

ght

e


Bought one, put it in the garage. It's much brighter than the florescent fixture that I moved to the basement, almost too bright. My basement ceiling is low, including my shop. I think the LED's would be too bright being that close to my eyes. I have a bit of sensitivity to really bright lights so I'm not sure they would work. It's easy enough to try, so I may do that, but no need to right now.
The one annoyance was the chain that came with the LED fixture. It seems like the links themselves are a heavier gauge than all my other shop lights , but they are also smaller. They don't fit over the existing hooks that my other fixtures are hanging from. I had to take 2 links from the older chain s and use them as the "hanging links" for the LED fixture.
They sure are lighter though! The box says they'll light down to -4°F, so winter shouldn't be a problem. If it gets down to -4°F in my attached garage, I've got bigger issues than a light fixture that won't come on. ;-)
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.