Home Crappo Reviewed


http://www.nextag.com/Home+Depot~1220219zzzreviewsz1zmainz17-htm
Home Depot Merchant InformationMerchant Reviews
13 Reviews Rview Review Summary Last 40 days Last 90 days All Reviews Positive 0 0 2 Neutral 0 0 0 Negative 3 7 11 Total Reviews 3 7 13 Average Rating 1.3 1.1 1.7
Date: 10/23/06 Rated by: Captn "Think about this before you make a special order from Home Depot: We ordered a full set of Kitchen cabinets with trim etc. The lead time is 6 weeks; and when the order arrived, there were missing and damaged pieces. The replacement / fulfillment time was another 6 weeks!!! My lesson learned was, Home Depot makes no allowances for problems that effect the customer; and has no process for addressing problems with special orders. You loose!"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 10/7/06 Rated by: newcombg5 "I ordered a round-front toilet seat from homedepot.com on Sept. 1, 2006. I selected the item by filtering for round front toilet seats using Homedepot.com's own search engine. The product description does not even state what kind of toilet seat it is, but I assumed it would be right because elongated seats were specifically filtered out. On 9/12/06 the item arrived, and it was an elongated toilet seat. I e-mailed homedepot.com on 9/17/06 and they said they would arrange for the item to be picked up within 3-5 days. Even after ten days, the item was not picked up, and I could no longer leave it at the UPS Store where I receive my mail. I e-mailed them several times urging them to provide me with an address to send the item myself, and they evaded the question, so I called their customer service and they adamantly refused to give me an address to send the item back, they only work on a call-tag basis. They also said I could not return it to my local Home Depot store. You should not order from homedepot.com because you cannot trust the search engine, item descriptions, and you will probably not be able to return your item if it is not right. (I don't think that call tag ever did show up.)"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 9/28/06 Rated by: ndiamond4ever "Bought a Wagner Wallpaper Remover from Home Depot's online ordering. Ordered it Sept. 7th, cancelled order on Sept 10th & was advised I would have to refuse shipment of the item when it arrived. Order shipped Sept 12th & I refused shipment as instructed. Now they are refusing to refund my shipping, claiming once an order is "routed" not "shipped" there is nothing they can do. What a rip off!!!!!"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 9/28/06 Rated by: Borderdog "I bought 20 pavers that were advertised on the shelf for .46 ea. Got to the checkout in the Garden Dept. and they charged me .69 ea. I went and got the tag from the shelf, but was informed that I now had to go to Customer Service for a refund. I stood in line for 10 minutes waiting and finally got to the CS rep. Because there were no bar codes on the pavers, the poor CS rep. had to enter all 20 pavers UPC numbers individually. Then, the scanner wouldn't read the bar code on the label from the shelves, so she had to enter that UPC manually and over-ride the price for each paver. This whole scenario took about 30 minutes. I must say the rep. kept her cool, I was steamed. All for $5.00. I am usually a Lowe's customer, but since the Home Depot is a bit closer, I thought I'd give them the business. Not any more."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 9/19/06 Rated by: JohnHoward "Bought an Admiral (Maytag) AAV7000AWW washing machine from Home Depot store #1509 in Denver. They delivered a machine with a bent shaft that drives the tub and agitator. Of course, it vibrates excessively at all speeds. They won't take it back unless I deliver it to them (I'm 69 yrs old and not able to do this myself. A moving company quotes $240 do take it back to them.) They delivered it after making me wait 9 days, and say that they don't pick them up. Neither Maytag nor Home Depot will stand behind their machines. Be very careful in buying appliances from a hardware store. You will be on your own if it isn't working right. Their customer service people (in India I think) offered me a $25 gift card to shut up, I told Satish (customer service) that $250 would be closer. I have called the store daily for the last 10 days without any results."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 8/15/06 Rated by: ernieschick "called to have a hot water heater installed (they had same day installation & PROUD of it!). well,called at 7 am and they promised that they would bring water heater out and install that day, but never got a call...I called them back at noon, and they said it would be a little later, so I took off work to meet the guy for installation,4 pm and they still didn't call. Called them back and they said they were out of that water heater...went to store and pointed to in-stock water heater that they had on shelf (5 Actually) and thay said they never got the order to install...they said their PHONES weren't working (as they were using them)! Then they got angry with US for not wanting to do it the next day!!! WENT TO LOWES"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 7/4/06 Rated by: Billwood "Being a Contractor, I shopped Home Depot for years. About 5 years ago, they changed owners & obviously the new owners don't know a thing about employee loyalty or customer service. It's hard to find an employee with a 10 year badge, or anyone at all to help you. They seemed to force out older (experienced) employees & replace them with kids that have no experience & therefor don't know anything. I now shop at Lowes. Just check their stock numbers & see what's happening. It's a shame to see what was once a good company go bad. "
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 6/11/06 Rated by: slockhart "I worked with Home Depot to remodel my spare bathroom. They staff was extremely friendly and helped me every step of the way. I spent about 3,000 and it was worth every penny. I did require some help with the tile floor and they worked with me to get a good contractor to install the flooring. The experience was excellent."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 6/2/06 Rated by: limbojim "Had to phone order in; on hold for almost half an hour. Asked about delivery time, was assured I'd have it within 5 biz days. Got it in 7, too late for Memorial Day. Called to get return authorization; on hold for more than an HOUR. Not impressed with Home Depot Direct!"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 12/21/05 Rated by: daled "I've done heavy remodeling on my house, inside and out, and have been very pleased with Home Depot, including returns. I've never returned more than 4 items at any one time, but it's been no problem. We just bought a new washer and dryer...delivery was when it was supposed to be, and was courteous and professional. We just recently had a Lowes open up nearby, and I've shopped there, but many of their items (bags of sand, most recently) are considerably more expensive."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 12/13/05 Rated by: Manerly "We just redecorated our bathroom ...and because we live downtown Chicago, We bought most of what we needed from home depot. We spent around 2500 USD there. After we were done, we went to return some stuff that we had bought but didnt use at all, like extra paint, glue, nails, screws etc. It turned out they treated us so bad for returning all that stuff. Please note that we didnt use any of the stuff and most of it was even still sealed in its box. Yes we were returning a lot of small stuff (Around 25 items and the value for all of it was around 200 USD) but nothing compared to what we've spent there. There was even one sales girl who came up to us and said, "who is returning all of these items?...who is returning of all these items ?...is it them?...Who?.." and then she looked at us when i nodded and said out loud," Thank God, i dont have to deal with all of these". Not only that, the salesperson who was dealing with us, basically threw all the stuff we returned, made lots of banging noise, and didnt smile at all.... They made us feel like we were committing a crime for returning all of those items. I am so sorry for such a big store like "home depot", they have a lousy customer service department. We are thinking of decorating our kitchen next year...and definetely we are not gooing to go back to Home Depot."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Date: 12/7/05 Rated by: Artyworld "Cupertino Branch. Don't carry Grohe in stock. Hard to find a knowledgeable person. Hard to find someone to help. Shop is dirty/dusty. We purchased a Schuler kitchen designed by them. It was a disaster. The cupboards are all to big so there is not room for crown molding. I didn't figure this out until after it was installed and there were huge gaps where it met the ceiling in places. Difficult to make it go away. The cupboards for above the fridge were to big also which meant we had to drop the subzero fridge onto the subfloor instead of it being at the same height as the floor. I now come to find that they don't carry Schuler anymore, Lowes does. WE don't have a Lowes around here and I need to purchase a couple of other items. "
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Last updated: October 31, 2006 18:26 -1940257610 v1x100
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
And this surprises you? When's the last time that you were so satisfied with any big box store that you ran home and wrote up a glowing review?
People only take the time to do this stuff when they have an axe to grind. If the store sucked, they wouldn't be so successful.
-Tim
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

It depends how you define success. You can feed people a number of different ways. Two of them are: Sit them down at a table and serve them on plates, w/ a modicum of amenities. Or pour slop into a 500 foot trough, so 1,000 (500 each side) people can feed quickly. But not necessarily inexpensively.
The complaints are from people feeding at the trough, waiting for the waitress to bring some water/extra dressing.
The sit-down table was yer old local hardware store. Which no longer exists.
From an over-priced trough pov, HD is indeed successful. -- Mr. P.V.'d (formerly Droll Troll), Yonkers, NY Stop Corruption in Congress & Send the Ultimate Message: Absolutely Vote, for *Anyone BUT* a Democrat or a Republican Ending Corruption in Congress is the Single Best Way to Materially Improve Your Life entropic3.14decay at optonline2.718 dot net; remove pi and e to reply--ie, all d'numbuhs

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
message

You paint the picture wrong -- HD is almost always cheaper than "the local store". That's why they are around, and the local stores have dried up. What they don't have, typically, is the same level of personal service, as you pointed out.
-Tim
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
It is the *rare case* when I can't *substantially* beat or at the very least match HDs prices. Rare. Some exceptions are lumber, in particular plywood, because the shit that HD carries, no self-respecting lumber yard will carry. So you pay a little more for decent stuff. And the ease of dealing w/ your local lumber building supply often makes any extra cost WELL worth it, ito time, hassle, vein-throbbing frustration. Another is their $7.98 shop lite (4 ft T-8s). But, I get the bulbs 50% cheaper locally. Often, I get the lumber/insulation/etc as cheap or cheaper, *w/ free truck delivery*. No lines, no bullshit, and a hand unloading the stuff.
At my local hardware store, I make a special arrangement. I keep money on account at all times (cupla hundred bucks), and in exchange I get a discount so that prices are close or below HD, no tax, 2-block away convenience, free delivery if nec, and the dignity of dealing w/ people who actually know my effing name.
HD should be used ONLY for price checking, quick assessment of "what's out there". No actual purchases should be made at HD except late-nite/sunday/holiday/emergency purchases. We've sold our asses, for a few goddamm pennies--and not even that, in the long run. Fuck HD. -- Mr. P.V.'d (formerly Droll Troll), Yonkers, NY Stop Corruption in Congress & Send the Ultimate Message: Absolutely Vote, for *Anyone BUT* a Democrat or a Republican Ending Corruption in Congress is the Single Best Way to Materially Improve Your Life entropic3.14decay at optonline2.718 dot net; remove pi and e to reply--ie, all d'numbuhs

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
message

See, that's the difference. The rest of us don't want to make special arrangements to get a price. They don't want to price-match. They want to walk into the store, be reasonably sure the product they want will be there, and get it for a good price. No haggle, no accounts, no fuss, no muss.
Your 'local' is 2 blocks away. Mine is probably 10-15 miles.
No tax? Are they breaking the law, or are you a reseller? I'm not, I'm just Joe Homeowner.

Where do you suggest I go? We have a couple of True Values nearby, but their prices are much higher than HD, and they don't carry lumber. I have a Lowes and a HD within a mile. Anywhere else, I'd be driving 10-15 miles every time I needed something. And typically paying more.
I'm not knocking the local guy -- I hate to see them get run out. But I don't have unlimited funds and need to budget somewhere (and can't take a huge trip every time I need something).
-Tim
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Well, there you go: CheckMate. HD wins. We all lose. -- Mr. P.V.'d (formerly Droll Troll), Yonkers, NY Stop Corruption in Congress & Send the Ultimate Message: Absolutely Vote, for *Anyone BUT* a Democrat or a Republican Ending Corruption in Congress is the Single Best Way to Materially Improve Your Life entropic3.14decay at optonline2.718 dot net; remove pi and e to reply--ie, all d'numbuhs

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Proctologically Violated wrote:

Its no diffent in the UK and I totally in agree in the better service given by most of the walk in stores. We also have stores like HD online that can provide less costly items and a much better range. Although you will always hear of horror stories there are also a lot of good stores. e have one called Screwfix that sell 1000's of products and actually have a better level of service than most of the local stores. As an ex chippy I still have a trade account and recently had the wrong screws sent for a job. After ringing and moaning they sent me replacements free of charge. We live in the age of ever bigger stores and I think unless in a remote area the smaller shops are doomed to a degree. I did however read a report which showed the deliveries made by a large supermarket chain would have saved over 500 gallons of fuel in a single area, due to the reduction of drivers going to the store. Maybe sometimes we have to look at the benefits, especially as we will be swimming in a few years if all that we read is true.
Stu http://cateringappliancesltd.co.uk
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Precisely.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Tim Fischer wrote:

IMHO it *does* suck... although I've never been ripped off by them, they don't seem to stock anything actually useful. I'm not sure what people buy there that they seem to keep making a profit, but anything I would need I usually end up randomly wandering the aisles for a while, asking an employee, and then going home and buying off eBay. In the last couple weeks alone, I've been denied a handful of Siemens circuit breakers and some Madison hangers by the Home Despot, which don't seem like odd or obscure items to me.
Sadly, the one thing they *do* seem to be good at is driving the small, good independent hardware stores out of business.
nate
--
replace "fly" with "com" to reply.
http://home.comcast.net/~njnagel
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 01 Nov 2006 02:36:45 GMT, "Stormin Mormon"

Did they actually change owners 5 years ago?

I've never seeen a 10 year badge, or a 2 year or 1 year badge. Do they have such badges?

Lowes still has a bad or tterrible webpage. I needed a foam filter and a bag for filters for my shop-vac. HD is now very close to me, but they stock Ridgid and only have 3rd party filters etc. for Shopvac. Usually t hat would be fine but in this case the filters are bags instead of disks, etc.
I loook on Lowes webpage to see if maybe at least this 3rd party is substantially cheaper. All I can find is the expensive pleated rubber framed cyclinder filter, and not the paper but washable disks WHICH I KNOW THEY SELL, because I've been shopping right there in the last 2 weeks.
They also seem to still want to assign you a store and tell you if THAT store has what you want. Heck, tell me if Lowes has what I want and how far it is to the nearest store that has it. I am a big boy and I have a car.
Lowes and HD seem to be competition for the worst webpages.

All the stories were terrible. I do remember that it has hundreds of stores and millions of customers and I wonder if these are terrible flukes or not unusual.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
wrote:

Ive never seen any year badge at HD that I recognized. But I did see a guy at WalMart with a 10 Years of Service nametag on an "Associate". Can you imagine?!!! !0 years at a WalMart as an Associate!!!! He did have tinted glasses on though. I wonder if he knows where he is working. I wonder if he knows he is even working. Maybe thinks he's playing a long video game.

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

My cousin's been at Wally World that long. Some people evidently like that kind of work, others find it the most challenging thing they can do. In any case, it's not nice to make fun of them.
-Tim
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 01 Nov 2006 18:19:25 -0600, Al Bundy wrote:

Of course not. It'a a publicly traded company. They are one of the thirty companies of the Dow Jones Industrial Average.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Who, HD in the Dow Avg?? -- Mr. P.V.'d (formerly Droll Troll), Yonkers, NY Stop Corruption in Congress & Send the Ultimate Message: Absolutely Vote, but NOT for a Democrat or a Republican. Ending Corruption in Congress is the Single Best Way to Materially Improve Your Family's Life. entropic3.14decay at optonline2.718 dot net; remove pi and e to reply--ie, all d'numbuhs
wrote:

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 1 Nov 2006 20:24:25 -0500, "Proctologically Violated"
He's right. http://money.cnn.com/data/dow30 / http://finance.yahoo.com/q/cp?s=%5EDJI
Maybe HD changed the COO or had a big change in other management, 5 years ago?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Wed, 01 Nov 2006 02:36:45 GMT, "Stormin Mormon"

So Memorial day was less than 7 days away and they told him within 5 days. With any store, he should not have relied on that. He must be young.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
wrote:

I have just about given up making contact via telephone. Your experience on hold for one hour is not unusual; in fact, much of the time, the system hangs up on the caller.
If it's something REALLY serious/maddening, I go to Yahoo Finance and get the name, address, phone and fax of the President or CEO, and send them a polite but firm letter explaining the misdeeds of their company and specifying what I want for compensation.
The Pres/CEO bucks my letter to somebody in the company who Gets Things Done. I suspect they are so shocked at receiving a literate and clear communication, that they hasten to respond. Also, typically the head of a company knows that he is in business to make money, and values each customer more than a minimum-wage phone answerer.
I just don't have time in my life any more to sit on the phone after pushing 'n" buttons, waiting to interact with an Epsilon Minus.
If it's something less serious/maddening, I fax or email or write to the local office of the company.
Either way, it saves time and nerves and gets better results than sitting on hold forever..
Also I tend to agree with previous poster not to count on promised delivery.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Related Threads

    HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.