Chanticleer Gardens

I live within a half hour drive of the world famous Longwood Gardens. Folks come from all over the world to see the grounds and the wonderful conservatory/greenhouse. But it wasn't until a couple of years ago that I came across Chanticleer (http://www.chanticleergarden.org ), which, to me, is far more interesting.
This 35-acre estate has been transformed into a fascinating study of varied venues and plant combinations. Open fields, forests, densely shadowed stream, water features, and flowers, flowers, flowers everywhere. The master house is a study of floral accents (its circular drive is lined with thick hydrangeas, regrettably not yet in bloom), in stark contrast to the ruins, which present a wholly different horticultural gamesmanship.
Take a walk through the estate with my new Canon 17-40mm L lens at: http://www.tfrog.com/digitals/flash/chant/chant1.htm - three pages of photos.
I was looking for ideas for my pine-dominated Meditation Walk, and found some interesting options. Now if only I could get Chanticleer's grounds crew out to my home for a day...
dwight www.tfrog.com
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Very nice photos! Thank you for posting. I have been wanting to visit Chanticleer for a while and wondered what it was like. Marilyn

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
Hi Dwight,
You are entirely right about Chanticleer and Longwood. However, for those of us near Philadelphia, these are just of the few great gardens we have near us. Some of the best are:
Andalusia, http://www.andalusiapa.org/ ($10, reservations required)
Bartram's Garden, http://www.bartramsgarden.org/ (free)
Bowman's Hill Wildflower Preserve, http://www.bhwp.org/ ($5)
Bryn Athyn Cathedral Gardens, http://www.brynathyncathedral.org/ (free)
Chanticleer Garden, http://www.chanticleergarden.org/ ($10)
Delaware Center for Horticulture, http://www.dehort.org/ (free)
Gibraltar, http://www.preservationde.org/gibraltar/ (free)
Grounds for Sculpture, http://www.groundsforsculpture.org/ ($10)
Hagley Museum, http://www.hagley.lib.de.us/ ($11)
Hortulus Farm Gardens, http://www.hortulusfarm.com/ ($12)
Japanese Garden and House: Shofuso, http://www.shofuso.com/ ($6)
Jenkins Arboretum, http://www.jenkinsarboretum.org/ (free)
Longwood Gardens, http://www.longwoodgardens.org/ ($16)
Meadowbrook Farm, http://www.meadowbrookfarm.org/ ($ by appointment)
Morris Arboretum, http://www.upenn.edu/arboretum ($10)
Mt. Cuba Center, http://www.mtcubacenter.org/ ($5, reservations required)
Nemours Mansion and Garden, http://www.nemours.org/mansion.html ($?)
Scott Arboretum, http://www.scottarboretum.org/ (free)
Temple University Ambler Landscape Arboretum, http://www.temple.edu/ambler/arboretum/ (free)
Tyler Arboretum, http://www.tylerarboretum.org/ ($5)
West Laurel Hill Cemetery, http://www.forever-care.com (free)
Winterthur, http://www.winterthur.org/ (garden tram, $15)
Wyck, http://www.wyck.org/ ($5)
The admission fees are the straight adult fees. Often, senior and children fees also apply. See website for details.

--
Pardon my spam deterrent; send email to snipped-for-privacy@earthlink.net
Visit my Rhododendron and Azalea web pages at:
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
I had never heard of a lot of those. I have saved the list. Thanks. Marilyn

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

HomeOwnersHub.com is a website for homeowners and building and maintenance pros. It is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.